Related Posts:

Sports Anchor, WFAA

Hansen began his career as a radio disc jockey and operations manager in Newton, Iowa. This was followed by a job as a sports reporter at KMTV in Omaha, Nebraska. Hansen’s first job in Dallas was with KDFW-TV (Channel 4). He joined WFAA-TV in 1983.

In 1987, Hansen was honored with the George Foster Peabody Award for Distinguished Journalism. That same year, he won the duPont-Columbia Award for his contribution to the investigation of SMU’s football program. As a result of this investigation, the NCAA prohibited SMU from fielding a football program in 1987.

Hansen is the only local on-air broadcaster who has received the Radio Television Digital News Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement Award, which he received in 2019. Hansen has been featured in The New York Times, The Washington Post, and on the Ellen Degeneres Show. Hansen’s other awards and honors include:

  • Dallas Peace and Justice Center’s 2019 Inspiration Award
  • Hero of Hope Award from the Cathedral of Hope Church
  • Peacemaker Award from the Turtle Creek Chorale
  • Children’s Hero Award from TexProtects
  • Distinguished Professional Achievement Award from the UNT School of Journalism
  • Communicator of the Year by the National Speech and Debate Association
  • Recipient of over 20 Lone Star EMMY Awards
  • Sportscaster of the Year on two occasions by the Associated Press
  • Texas Sportscaster of the Year on three occasions by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association
  • Best Sportscaster by United Press International and the Dallas Press Club
  • TV Personality of the Year by American Women in Radio and Television
  • Iowa Associated Press award for Best Investigative Reporter